Write the vision; make it plain…” {Habakkuk 2:2}”

 

https://bugsandstuff.wordpress.com
Do you set goals? People who set personal goals for themselves are more likely to achieve their dreams than those who don’t. (c) Kim Bennett, 2014

Did you set any goals last year? Did you meet any of those goals?

This year, as part of my effort to read something that doesn’t have anything to do with work or homeschool instruction (do I hear any applause out there?), I decided to pull out my not-quite-fully-used copy of Simple Abundance, by Sarah Ban Breathnach, and attempt to work through it, day by day.

When I opened it up to the January 1 entry several days ago, what a surprise it was to see my goals from 2010, on a pastel pink sticky note:

  • A new home
  • My own business
  • Work from home
  • Peace

At the time I wrote these goals, I had just finished my third cycle of chemotherapy for invasive ductal carcinoma (breast cancer) and was heading into the fourth, and final cycle in a few weeks. I was in the middle of twelve weeks of family leave which I did not want to take, and was wondering about my future (on so many levels).

So it was even a greater joy to evaluate those old goals, here in 2015:

 

https://bugsandstuff.wordpress.com
Fall 2011 brought a (temporary) move to an apartment in the country. Here is a marvelous spring sunset that we captured off our back patio. (c) Kim Bennett, 2012

 

A new home – We moved to the country for 2 1/2 years starting in the late fall of 2011, and had a tenant in our city home for a short time. For many reasons (mostly very right ones), we moved back to our home in late summer of 2014. We haven’t let go of our goal for a new home, however.

https://bugsandstuff.wordpress.com
My home office dream was a reality by September 2011. It is a great space for thinking and quiet work. (c) Kim Bennett, 2011.

My own business – – DONE! I left my job in July of 2010, and started my own consulting company. It has been a blessing to my family and my career in many, many ways.

 

Work from home – DONE! I created a home office in summer of 2011 – love it! This year my consulting business includes two to three days a week outside the home, but the remainder is contracted work that can be done from home. This blessing enables me to do so many things on my list…

 

 

https://bugsandstuff.wordpress.com
Back in our home in 2014. A peaceful me posing on our new front porch, in front of our new front door. (c) Kim Bennett, 2014.

Peace – ongoing… I am certainly in a much more peaceful place than I was back in 2010.

How exciting it was to see that I met those goals, during such a challenging period of our lives here!


So what’s in store for 2015?

I am setting life goals in several areas, with the highest priority being the top of the list:

  • God: Be all that God wants me to be
  • Marriage: Support my husband as head of the family in all things
  • Family: Move to a farm
  • Self: Get healthy… stay healthy…
  • Finances: Become debt-free and stay that way
  • Home:Rent or sell our current home
  • Career: Write for a living

Now, here is my 2015 goal-setting plan:

  • God: Become an active part of at least one church ministry
  • Marriage: Support my husband in his current position
  • Family: Practice “urban homesteading”
  • Self: Lose 20 lbs
  • Finances: Start and follow a Debt Snowball
  • Home: Continue home renovations
  • Career: Renew my blogging focus

To help me break down the year’s goals into manageable monthly goals, I am using a monthly goal-setting template from Mama Jenn.  This helps so much with weekly and daily planning and goal-setting– if a task doesn’t help my progress toward my big goals, then it takes a backseat to some other “to-do’s.” I will try to select three of these monthly goals to accomplish by the end of January. See tomorrow’s post for details!

Stay tuned for monthly updates to these goals!

