{This post is the second in a series entitled, “Staying Connected: The Power of Prayer.}

https://bugsandstuff.wordpress.com
Going to God in prayer allows us to rest in Him. (c) Susanne Nilsson, 2014 via Creative Commons Licensing

“Be still, and know that I am God…” {Psalm 46:10}

What kind of a day did you have today?

I had a wonderful time in the Lord this morning, and the Holy Spirit moved mightily in our church.

After service, we all went to a local buffet to celebrate the first lady’s birthday as a church family. When the meal was over, my family and I headed home to relax and bask in the glow of His presence from the morning. All was well and peace of mind prevailed.

Then it slowly hit me… tomorrow is Monday, and Sunday is nearly over. With that realization, little nagging thoughts entered in and slowly darkened the bright, sunny places of my formerly peaceful mind:

  • I didn’t get that data report ready today – will I have time tomorrow?
  • I vacuumed zero rooms today, and I’m not sure I’m okay with that.
  • The clothes are still on the line, and the dishes are still in the sink.
  • I had a list of 20 things to do, and did only three of them.
  • I thought I sang well in choir today, but I could have sung better, I think.
  • I haven’t written my homeschool plans for the week, which I’m sure will be okay with my son.
  • My husband was full after the buffet, but will probably want some dinner at some point.
  • Did the pets get fed? Did the dog get walked?
  • Why didn’t the mail carrier pick up the bills yesterday? Will they be late now?

And so on, and so forth. Once I get going, there’s no stopping me. I’m like the Energizer Bunny: I keep going, and going, and going…

But wait! God promised me a peace of mind that surpasses all understanding {Philippians 4:7}. What did I do wrong? Then I remembered — when the going gets tough, the tough get on their knees. And there they find one of the important purposes of prayer: resting in God’s presence.

Do you remember when your children were toddlers, and they’d be overtired or overstimulated, and they’d just get cranky beyond all consolation? Sometimes, the only solution was a nap, quiet time or a time out. Prayer forces us to take a time out from life’s struggles to climb into our Heavenly Father’s celestial lap… to take a little break from it all.

Resting in God doesn’t mean that our daily troubles immediately go away. In fact, my dishes are still in the sink (they’ll get washed in the morning) and I will definitely not do that report tonight. But by making a conscious decision to unplug, disconnect from my surroundings, and connect with God helps me restore my balance, regain God’s perspective on things, and prioritize better.

Jesus said not to worry about tomorrow, because today’s events are enough for today (Matthew 6:34). Isn’t it wonderful that God knows our natural inclination is to overthink and overwork things, and that He provides us with His undivided attention to get things back in order?

God is bigger than anything that the day throws at you. Take a moment, go to a quiet place, and just rest in Him. Grab hold of that peace of mind that He has saved, just for you.

Merciful Loving God, thank you for loving me so much that you want me to be at peace always. Thank you for reminding me to take time out of the busy-ness of life to get a good re-set, to rest in Your Love, and to put my priorities straight. Thank you for not thinking any of my worries too trivial or too big to take to you. Help me to keep the peace of Christ with me for the rest of this day, and, when I need a new filling, remind me to come to You in prayer to refresh my peace of mind. In Jesus’ Name I pray. ~ Amen.

 

 

 

 

