[This post is the conclusion of a 3-part post on Proverbs 31:1. See “Three Aspects of a Mother’s Christian Education” for Part 2]

https://bugsandstuff.wordpress.com proverbs
A homeschool moment… (c) Kim M. Bennett, 2013

Reflecting on Proverbs 31:1

I often struggle over the logistics of homeschooling while I still work some days outside the home. This passage reaffirms that God wants mothers to teach their sons, and for sons to listen to the counsel of their mothers. In fact, this counsel is intended to raise up great leaders, not just smart kids! I am encouraged!

The other interesting point is that, unlike traditional education systems that measure learning by student performance, godly instruction is measured by the change in the heart of the learner. How many times does God refer to the outside of a person not matching up to the insides (Mt 23:25)? How many times does God refer to the recalcitrant one as one who has a “stony heart” (Ezek 36:26)?

On a more personal level, I hear God reminding me that every verse of His Word is “useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work” (2 Tim 3:16-17). But if I want to be transformed by the Word of God, first I have to hear the Word and pay attention to the message. Then I have to let the Word change my thinking, my heart… my life.

From One Mother to Another…

If you do not currently use any online bible study tools, I would recommend BibleStudyTools.com. Here you will find a vast assortment of Bible study aids, including many Bible versions and translations, tools to mark up, notate and tag your Bible studies, and reference materials, such as John Gill’s Exposition of the Bible, which is referenced in this post.

I would also encourage you to purchase a copy of The Power of a Praying Mothera book of prayers and scriptures for each day of a 30-day prayer cycle. I have used these books, and they work! Each day, you read about and pray over one aspect of your child’s life (companions, obedience, finances, etc.). As you exercise the power of prayer, you also learn more about key scriptures that address each of these life issues – a win-win proposition! When you get to the end of the book, simply start over again.

https://bugsandstuff.wordpress.com proverbs
The Power of a Praying Mother is a mainstay in many Christian homes. $6.36 at Barnes & Noble.

