Image

The “Complaint Reflex”

When I woke up this morning, there was snow on the ground.

It was only a dusting mind you. And it IS only March 4, and we DO live in Connecticut. So snow is part of the winter entertainment package here.

But I am tired of snow. I am a flip-flops girl. I love flowers, and birds, and sunshine and the sounds of crickets at night. I love having the windows open and smelling greenness. So my heart sank just a teeny tiny bit.

And then I felt guilty. Because there’s a difference between making an observation (“It snowed a little last night.”) and whining (“Wah! I hate snow! I want summer! I’m moving to Florida in ten minutes!”). I felt myself turning left into misery. No bueno.

“Complaining?” It’s in There…

There’s a great online tool called The Open Bible. You can type in any topic, and it will return a bunch of scriptures on that topic. When you hover over a particular scripture, little voting buttons appear (“Helpful” and “Not Helpful”), and you can give feedback about how relevant the scriptures were to you.

Of course, complaining has a LOT of scriptures. What does that say about us? What does that say about how well God knows and understands us?

We are using the Child Training Bible as part of our parenting and homeschool instruction. We are always looking for what God says about things that happen during the course of our lives. So here are ten (okay… a “baker’s dozen”) of my favorites, presented the way God might use them to lovingly teach {me!}

Mount Hor where it is believed that Aaron brot...
Mount Hor, where it is believed that Aaron (brother of Moses) died, and the town of Taibeh. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Stop Complaining, Not Even Under Your Breath”

  • Do all things without grumbling or questioning… (Philippians 2:14)
  • Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear. (Ephesians 4:29)

“Why? Because Complaining Isn’t Nice…”

  • Do not grumble against one another, brothers, so that you may not be judged; behold, the Judge is standing at the door. (James 5:9)
  • Show hospitality to one another without grumbling. (1 Peter 4:9)

“(And You Especially Can’t Complain If You Get Yourself into a Mess.)”

  • Why should a living man complain, a man, about the punishment of his sins? (Lamentations 3:39)

“Whining is a ‘Fleshly’ Behavior…”

  • Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. (Romans 12:2)

“…Because It Shows That You Don’t See All I’ve Already Done for You! Just Look at the Israelites — {sigh}.”

  • And the people complained in the hearing of the Lord about their misfortunes, and when the Lord heard it, his anger was kindled, and the fire of the Lord burned among them, and consumed some outlying parts of the camp. Then the people cried out to Moses, and Moses prayed to the Lord, and the fire died down. So the name off that place was called Taberah, because the fire of the Lord burned among them. (Numbers 11:1-4)
  • From Mount Hor they set out by the way to the Red Sea, to go around the land of Edom. And the people became very impatient on the way. And the people spoke against God and against Moses, “Why have you brought us up out of Egypt to die in the wilderness? For there is no food and no water, and we loathe this worthless food.” Then the Lord sent fiery serpents among the people, and they bit the people, so that many people of Israel died. (Numbers 21:4-6)
  • Nor grumble, as some of them did, and were destroyed by the Destroyer. (1 Corinthians 10:10)

“Besides, I Gave You a Better Model for Godly Behavi0r — My Son, Jesus.”

  • He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet he opened not his mouth; like a lamb that is led to slaughter, and like a sheep that before its shearers is silent, he opened not his mouth. (Isaiah 53:7)

“Always Remember… If You Are Mine, I Want You to Be Happy, No Matter What!”

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. (Philippians 4:11-12)

“Just Turn to Me…”

  • Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5:18)

“… And I Will Be By Your Side, Always.”

  • May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope. (Romans 15:13)
Snow near Fremont
God’s plan for us never changes. (Photo credit: vzaliva)

What a Great Teacher!

The day was cold, but the snow dried up in the wind. I can’t say that I had flip-flops on, but I had a terrific day at work, and a peaceful, loving family to come home to.

I am thankful that God left His Word as a guidebook.  For more scriptures about complaining, read more at The Open Bible: “What Does the Bible Say About Complaining?”

Top Ten Tuesday at Many Little Blessings

