I’ve only been blogging for about 2 1/2 years, now. So I’m always interested in my stats. I mean, I know what I like to read, but what do NORMAL folks like to read?

So I took the time to look over all my “web presence” places (my blogs, my web pages, etc), and here are my top ten posts for the last month, plus some information I gathered about my other social networking places. I looked for the most frequently visited pages, which doesn’t tell me what people liked about the pages, how long they spent on the pages or whether or not they downloaded or copied content from them, but does tell me something about what titles attracted people’s attention, and maybe the keywords they used in their search engine, useful information for planning future blog posts:

Top Ten Tuesday at Many Little Blessings

First Runner Up:

“Biomes: Teaching With the ‘One Small Square’ Series” (from my science blog, Simple Science Strategies) – Part of my September science posts, focusing on the science skills of observation and the cognitive process of describing things with specific details, in this case, using a popular non-fiction series for children.

Number 10:

“Teaching Science and Nature Through Literature” (from my nature study blog, A Child’s Garden) – My contribution to an “all-call” by Barbara McCoy, of Handbook of Nature Study, for a blog post on literature that people use to teach scientific ideas. We were reading The Swiss Family Robinson, and I shared the many connections to science and nautical life that we made.

 

Number 9:

“Dandelions: A Bilingual Lesson on Plant Anatomy and Life Cycles” (also from A Child’s Garden) – Pretty self-explanatory. This article was an off-shoot of a nature study in our backyard.

 

Number 8:

“Resources for Data Teams” (from my teacher blog, Tip of the Week) – In my other life, I am an education consultant, and I work with teachers in schools all over the country. All of a teacher’s practice channels through their grade level or department data team, and this post was a collection of important tools and links to help them work as a team to improve student learning.

 

Number 7:

“The Random Name Generator” (from On Planting Seeds) – Who knew this little link that I found on Pinterest would be so popular? This handy online tool takes all your students’ names (that you pre-enter), and chooses a random student to call on. Fun, fun, fun, and increases engagement to 100% as students look to see if their names come up next.

 

Number 6:

“Puffballs!” (from A Child’s Garden) – A little study that came up unexpectedly this fall, when a big patch of puffballs showed up by the driveway. I think adults secretly like to play with puffballs as much as kids do!

Number 5:

“Experiments in Flight: Lift, Thrust and Drag” (from A Child’s Garden) – This was an experiment that we did in conjunction with our science curriculum (Exploring Creation Through Zoology 1: Flying Creatures of the Fifth Day), but I get emails asking me if I’m a fellow pilot (NOT!). But we WERE doing a unit study on military helicopters (not my first choice, but I learned a lot) at the same time.

 

Number 4:

“Citronella Ants Go Marching” (from A Child’s Garden) – Another accidental nature study (aren’t they the best ones?) when we discovered a kind of ant that I had never known about before, the citronella ant, while renovating a flower bed. We forgot about the garden edging, and studied the ants for an afternoon, instead.

Number 3:

“Science Skills: Making Observations and Asking Questions Like a Scientist” (one of my Squidoo lenses) – This is one of my first Squidoo lenses, and remains a popular one. I summarize some of our favorite nature study techniques (“One Small Square,” “Adopt-a-Plant,” critter cages, for example) in this article.

 

Number 2:

“Building a Snowman, Pt 1: Snowman Observations” (also from Squidoo) – An article I wrote showing how to turn building a snowman into a high-powered literacy, numeracy, health and social skills unit for kindergartners. I’m not sure where my readers are from, but this article gets hits all year round!

 

Number 1:

“September Study 3: Ants, Termites and Ant Lions” (from A Child’s Garden) –  This five-lesson unit plan gets hits from all over the world! Who knew that ants are so interesting? And one image, of an ant lion, gets copied more than any other image on my articles.

I find this all fascinating! You can do the same for your posts – go to the stats page, and look at what posts get the most visits in a day, week, month, all time — you decide. Month views give me the most information.

Year views are also interesting. I find lots of nature study hits over the summer (homeschoolers? moms with bored kids? teachers teaching summer school?), a flood of data teams hits in August/September (it’s back to school time…), and a surge in science hits, in general, after the dust settles in October.

Other Sites I Use

  • Facebook: Facebook analytics are available, if you want to see what your friends click on when you post your stuff, but you have to pay for them. Boo.
  • Pinterest: Pinterest sends me a great little weekly digest, telling me boards and pins that I might like, based on my own pinning history. They also send me a digest that tells me what pins were my most popular for a given period of time. Not that all my pins are my own stuff (most aren’t) but it gives me an idea about what that audience is liking on Pinterest. There are also two tools that you can use for free to monitor your Pinterest account. One is a free WordPress plug-in, WP Pinner (click the link for more information). The other is Pinerly, also free. Click over for more information.

Happy analyzing!

