Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it. (Proverbs 22:6)

When my eldest son, Evan, turned twelve, I told him there was someone special I wanted him to meet. So, that July summer day, I took him by the hand, walked him down to the basement, and introduced him to the washing machine.

한국어: 유럽향 드럼세탁기 (모델명_F1047TD)
Okay. My washer isn’t as fancy as this one. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am the mother of four, three of whom are boys. I told the eldest two men-folk that, although their mom stayed at home with them until they were in school, lots of women work, and, although domestic chores usually fall largely on the backs of moms, even when they do work outside the home, it is important that

English: Kraft Dinner (macaroni and cheese) wi...
I want my guys’ cooking repertoire to extend past this college-kid staple. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

boys be able to take care of themselves. There’s nothing sadder than a man who starves and can’t dress properly because he doesn’t have idea number one about how to make a box of Kraft macaroni and cheese or separate dark clothes from lights in the machine. And, as I told my guys, a handsome man who cooks, knows how to tidy up and understands why the car makes the noise it does is VERY attractive to a woman. Well, at least THIS one.

Because I want my guys to focus on finding a good wife, instead of needing a caretaker (Proverbs 18:22 says, “He who findeth a wife [not a maid] findeth a good thing.”), I taught them how to cook (well), do laundry, clean, handle their finances, and grocery shop. The two big boys are excellent cooks and bakers, have their own apartments, and are savers, so I think I instilled some good values in them.

Now it’s on to their little brother, who will be nine in November.

Malik loves to do grown-up tasks — “It makes me feel like a big boy.” The other night, Papi was feeling a little under the weather, so the little guy asked if he could cook dinner for him. We were having a family favorite, cube steaks and gravy, and Malik prepared the whole dish, from start to finish (Mami made the rice and helped cut up veggies, to save time). He was thrilled, as you can see here.

“When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.” (1 Cor 13:11) (Photo credit: (c) Kim M. Bennett, 2012)
