Our house received significant storm damage during New England‘s monstrous winter of January, 2011. The repairs were extensive, and were interrupted for weeks at a time, first during Hurricane/Tropical Storm Irene, then during the freak October Storm Benedict. [During both of these storms, our contractors had to sit idly while everyone who owned a cherrypicker was out trying to restore power to the nearly 1 million Connecticut residents without power]

During the last phases of the renovations, the plaster dust and noise (and the lead and asbestos from our Victorian home) was too much for us to bear, so we moved to an apartment closer to our grown sons, while the contractors finished up. Since they’ve finished, a relative moved into the area, and is living in our home while he gets settled into a new city. We are content, for the time being, in our townhouse in the country.

We have missed the beautiful gardens that we carved out of our urban lot, however. We have a nice little yard bordering an ancient stone wall here, and one of the first things I asked the landlord when we viewed the place was whether or not we could garden. She said, “Make it your home,” and that’s all I needed to hear. The rest is gardening history (see Books and Blooms for updates on my gardening happenings).

The hydrangea in this photo was a Mother’s Day gift from my eldest son, who has a great eye for plants, and loves his mom. It has flower heads the size of dinner plates and has been blooming like this ever since it hit the ground. I planted it right by my front door so I can see it all the time.

Hydrangea (maybe ‘Endless Summer’?)

I have begun a new homeschool project, developing botany journaling pages to combine my two passions: gardening and science (oh, and writing — I guess that’s three!). You can find more about these at my science website,Simple Science Strategies.

Peace to all.
Kim

