This article was written with high school English literature teachers in mind, but, when I read it, it sounded like an excellent way to teach a topic to multiple ages of children at the same time, in a homeschool setting. The example uses The Grapes of Wrath as the main novel, but the theme baskets contain picture books, middle grade novels, non-fiction resources on the Dust Bowl and migrant work, as well as non-traditional literature (movies, photographs and other primary resources, and timeline activities).

This fall, I am switching up our history studies to be a slower, deeper study, and I plan to integrate our Bible studies into the history units. I like the theme basket approach, and I’m thinking that I might pull all my resources for our first term (“The Ancients”) together into a theme basket over the summer.

Once I get it all put together, I’ll share.

Cross-Curricular Results for All Verizon Thinkfinity Partners – ReadWriteThink.

